a Flying Tester…

in search of REAL testing world!

My favourite Testing Quotes

with 7 comments

Below are the statements taken from James Bach’s blog and I personally call them quotes because they encourage me.

  • “My style of development and testing is highly agile. I am agile in that I am prepared to question and rethink anything. I change and develop my methods. I may learn from packaged ideas like Extreme Programming, but I never follow them. Following is for novices who are under active supervision. Instead, I craft methods on a project by project basis, and I encourage other people to do that, as well. I take responsibility for my choices. That’s engineering for adults like us.”
  •  “Good testing is an inherently a human process– not incidentally, not accidentally, but INHERENTLY. It’s highly social and psychological. The more complex software is, the more important that humans engage intellectually to identify and solve testing problems.”
  •  “You should not have a favourite weapon. To become over-familiar with one weapon is as much a fault as not knowing it sufficiently well. You should not copy others, but use weapons which you can handle properly.” – Miyamoto Musashi
  •  “Philosophy doesn’t find bugs for me, but it improves my ability to search for them. I have more patience for the search because philosophy has taught me tolerance for ambiguity, an appreciation for complexity, and a mistrust of appearances.”
  •  “A tester is someone who knows that things can be different.” – Jerry Weinberg
  •  “My self-image and my pride as a tester lies mostly with my belief that I can and I should be able to see a wide range of solutions to nearly any problem. That’s what being skilled in this craft of testing means to me.”
  •  “If you want to take responsibility for the quality of your own work, practices won’t save you: what saves you is your skill, plus your ambition to use your skill. I’m not saying you should ignore practices, nor should you hate them. Just don’t worship them.”
  •  “To learn to test is to learn to solve testing problems in every situation.”
  •  “We can accept humans making mistakes, but we can’t accept machines making a mistake that a human might have averted.”
Written by savita

January 16, 2012 at 12:23 am

Posted in Testing

Tagged with ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. believe that there are no “best practices” of testing, but rather that testing is a set of skills that allow the tester to select or invent testing practices to suit each unique situation.

    mercadeo

    January 23, 2012 at 8:03 pm

  2. I personally take pride in chanting this one every single time… despite it sounding rudimentary, crude and naive… “Be an emotional tester… hate your product when its being developed and love it after its released”… [ Its a modified version of-course because I can't find the lyrics to the original quote ;-) ]

    Sticking to this one single mantra did help earn me the reputation of being this one meanie tester that you don’t want to mess around with !

    Confusions Personified

    February 1, 2012 at 6:41 am

  3. Hi savita

    My thoughts on the definition you have mentioned

    1.“You should not have a favourite weapon. To become over-familiar with one weapon is as much a fault as not knowing it sufficiently well. You should not copy others, but use weapons which you can handle properly.” – Miyamoto Musashi.

    The above definition is really wonderful

    2.My self-image and my pride as a tester lies mostly with my belief that I can and I should be able to see a wide range of solutions to nearly any problem. That’s what being skilled in this craft of testing means to me.”

    I don’t accept with this definition. As a tester I find the problem in the system, but tester doesn’t provide any solution to the problem

    Tester

    March 14, 2012 at 10:35 am

    • Hello Sakthi,

      Here what James is trying to say that a skilled tester is the one who provide solution with whatever resources, tools available at that time. If testers believe that he can give solution (here solution means the testing as a service) to various softwares Medical Software, Banking Software Or Scientific software. A Tester should not stop if she does not know about that area. She should believe that she can give wide range of solution to any kind of problem .Here problem is referred to the Software under test :-)

      A Tester vision should be “I can test any software, under any condition, in any time frame”

      savita

      March 15, 2012 at 6:45 am

      • Hi savita

        I agree with this definition
        “A Tester vision should be “I can test any software, under any condition, in any time frame” but even in this definition no where it speaks about solution providing

        Consider this example

        I have been given a program to test.
        The program states that it can add any two numbers.

        Now I try adding two negative numbers, it throws error. I report that bug, but there is no
        need for me to provide solution for it. There is no need for me to tell how to implement the
        addition of two negative numbers.

        One more example

        I have been given a login screen to test

        I find that forgot password functionality is not there. I report that forgot password functionality
        is missing. There are thousand ways to implement forgot password functionality. But none of team members would except that I should provide solution to that problem. If I try to provide solution to that problem it’s like value addition. My main task is to find the problem not the solution to the problem.

        If I fail to find the problem then I am in trouble. If I fail to give solution it doesn’t have
        any impact on me as a tester.

        In the project every one has a duty to perform and we can provide extra value addition only
        if we do our duty properly.

        Gaining knowledge (ERP, Retail, Marketing, healthcare) helps me to find out what’s going
        wrong and what’s missing in the project. If we say that tester should also provide solution
        to the problem, then tester can be named as tester + business analyst(BI)= TBI

        Tester

        March 15, 2012 at 8:00 am

        • Hey Sakthi, according to a tester solution means the testing service provided to a customer.

          Let say customer comes to a tester with a software which he thinks that it has bugs. Bugs needs to report before customer release in market. But Customer does not have enough time and resources to spend on testing efforts. Now as a tester with your expertise help a customer to take appropriate decision. Tester should help to her stakeholder by offering solutions like providing quality information, finding defects, using test techniques suitable to the context, training other testers, learning software or domain rapidly, testing application extensively with input/output values, risk based analysis, telling the truth about software to customer, etc. I think these are few of the services (I mean solutions) a tester should have belief of providing wide range of solution to customer’s problem.

          Imagine your current Customer and his problem (time, budget, resources, marketing strategy, end user demands and testing skills), and think of what solution you can provide as a tester. :-)

          savita

          March 15, 2012 at 12:14 pm


Leave a Reply

